Contact address | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Theme: Maurice Borel (1860–1926): cartographer from Neuchâtel

Cartographica Helvetica 61 (2020)

Summary:

In 2017, volume nr. 134 of the series La Nouvelle Revue neuchâteloise (NRN) was published under the title Maurice Borel (1860–1926), Cartographe. Being aware that this extraordinary and talented cartographer was not well-known in the German-speaking part of Switzerland, we decided to use this issue as an outline for our own publication. The authors Marcel Garin (Gorgier) and Maurice Evard (Neuchâtel) were inspired by this project and supported us in obtaining the required originals and background information, which had in the meantime been relocated at the State Archives of Neuchâtel (Archives de l'État de Neuchâtel) by the «Association de L'Aristoloche» (formerly «Fondation du Moulin de Bevaix»).

Maurice Borel was born on March 28, 1860 and died on May 15, 1926. His father already had three sons Alfred, Adolphe and Antoine from his first marriage. These three brothers were very successful businessmen and operated a trading company in the USA, supporting their half-brother financially most of his life. Maurice Borel learned his trade as lithographer from 1879 to 1882 at the «Geographische Anstalt von Wurster, Randegger & Cie.» in Winterthur. At the end of 1882, he traveled to Paris where a recommendation from his former employer was helpful in finding a position at the «Établissement géographique Erhard frères».

On September 17, 1884, Maurice married Bertha Reinhart, the daughter of the owner of the guesthouse where he had lodged in Winterthur. She was a talented floral artist who, among other works, had illustrated two books. In 1884, the first of four children was born in Paris, and later on, four more children were born in Neuchâtel.

Around 1888, Maurice Borel established his own lithography workshop at his home address at Avenue d'Orléans 19 in Paris. Almost at the same time, his former employer Johannes Randegger had considered transferring his company in Winterthur to Maurice Borel. However, due to financial reasons, his poor knowledge of the German language, and also to a lack of self-confidence required to run such a reputed company, Borel decided to forego this offer.

1889, in addition to his French contracts, he created a map of the Canton of Neuchâtel (Carte du Canton de Neuchâtel) at the scale 1:50,000 in four sheets using the data of the Topographischer Atlas der Schweiz 1:25,000. Based on this map, he developed a four-part relief model. Furthermore, he issued a school wall map at the same scale and format a year later.

In mid-1893, Maurice Borel decided to return to Switzerland where he founded a new workshop in Neuchâtel. Besides maps, he also produced panoramas and additional relief models, notably those showing regions in his surroundings such as the Creux-du-Van and the Gorges de l'Areuse. His standing occupation was his cooperation on the Geographisches Lexikon der Schweiz (German and French editions, 6 volumes, 1902–1910) for which all of the maps were created at his workshop. The original engraving and color lithography on stone was replaced by the technique on zinc plates (zincography), and successively by enlarged drawings separated by color which were then reduced photographically to the final scale.

His great passion, however, had always been archeology, the search for remains of the pile dwellings along the shores of the Lac de Neuchâtel, which had come to light mainly thanks to the Jura water correction (1868–1891). In 1907 he became president of the excavation commission and continued mapping their discoveries until his death in 1926.

Translation by Christine Studer


© 1990–2021 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontaktadresse | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Thema: Der Neuenburger Kartograph Maurice Borel (1860–1926)

Cartographica Helvetica 61 (2020)

Zusammenfassung:

2017 wurde in der Reihe La Nouvelle Revue neuchâteloise (NRN) das Heft Nr. 134 mit dem Titel Maurice Borel (1860–1926), Cartographe publiziert. Im Wissen, dass dieser ausserordentlich vielseitige Kartograph in der deutschsprachigen Schweiz nicht sehr bekannt ist, haben wir uns entschieden, dieses Heft als Vorlage für eine eigene Publikation zu verwenden. Die Autoren Marcel Garin (Gorgier) und Maurice Evard (Neuchâtel) liessen sich für unser Vorhaben begeistern und unterstützten uns bei der Suche nach den benötigten Grundlagen, die in der Zwischenzeit von der «Association de L'Aristoloche» (früher «Fondation du Moulin de Bevaix») ins Staatsarchiv von Neuenburg (Office des archives de l'État de Neuchâtel) verlagert worden waren.

Maurice Borel wurde am 28. März 1860 geboren und starb am 15. Mai 1926. Aus erster Ehe seines Vaters stammen drei Halbbrüder, Alfred, Adolphe und Antoine. Diese waren geschäftlich sehr erfolgreich, unter anderem mit ihrer Handelsgesellschaft in den Vereinigten Staaten Amerikas, und unterstützten ihn finanziell fast zeitlebens. Maurice Borel liess sich 1879 bis 1882 in der «Geographischen Anstalt von Wurster, Randegger & Cie.» in Winterthur zum Steingraveur ausbilden. Ende 1882 reiste er nach Paris, wo er mit einem Empfehlungsschreiben seines bisherigen Arbeitgebers im «Établissement géographique Erhard frères» eine Anstellung fand.

Am 17. September 1884 heirateten Maurice und Bertha Reinhart, die Tochter der Pensionsinhaberin, bei der er in Winterthur logiert hatte. Sie war eine talentierte Blumenmalerin, die unter anderem zwei Bücher illustrieren konnte. Ab 1886 wurden ihnen in Paris vier Kinder geboren, später in Neuenburg nochmals vier.

Um 1888 machte sich Maurice Borel selbständig und eröffnete an seiner Wohnadresse Avenue d'Orléans 19 in Paris ein eigenes Lithographieatelier. Fast gleichzeitig musste er eine wichtige Entscheidung bezüglich seiner zukünftigen Situation treffen. Johannes Randegger, sein erster Chef hatte die Idee, ihm seine Winterthurer Firma zu übergeben. Finanzielle Gründe, wenig Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache, aber auch mangelndes Selbstvertrauen, eine solche reputierte Firma leiten zu können, liessen ihn auf das Angebot verzichten.

Parallel zu seinen französischen Aufträgen erstellte er in seinem Atelier 1889 eine Karte des Kantons Neuenburg (Carte du Canton de Neuchâtel) im Massstab 1:50 000 in vier Blättern, vorwiegend basierend auf den Daten des Topographischen Atlas der Schweiz 1:25 000. Auf der Basis dieser Karte erstellte er zudem ein Reliefmodell in vier Teilen. Ein Jahr später folgte im gleichen Massstab und Format eine Schulwandkarte.

Mitte 1893 entschied sich Maurice Borel für eine Rückkehr in die Schweiz, wo er in Neuenburg ein neues Atelier gründete. Nebst Karten produzierte er auch Panoramen und weitere Reliefmodelle, beispielhaft sind vor allem diejenigen seiner näheren Umgebung, der Creux-du-Van und der Gorges de l'Areuse. Als Dauerauftrag war seine Mitarbeit am Geographischen Lexikon der Schweiz (deutsche und französische Ausgabe, 6 Bände, 1902–1910), für das sein Atelier sämtliche Karten erstellte. Die ursprüngliche Gravur und Farblithographie auf Stein wurde zuerst von der Technik auf Zinkplatten (Zinkographie) und später durch das farbgetrennte Zeichnen in vergrösserter Form und anschliessender photographischer Reduktion in den Endmassstab abgelöst.

Seine grosse Leidenschaft blieb aber die Archäologie, die Suche nach den Überresten der Pfahlbauten entlang dem Ufer des Neuenburgersees, die vor allem dank der Juragewässerkorrektion (1868–1891) ans Tageslicht gekommen waren. 1907 wurde er Präsident der Ausgrabungskommission und kartierte laufend deren Funde bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1926.


© 1990–2021 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS