Contact address | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Theme: Photography at the Federal Office of Topography

Cartographica Helvetica 59 (2019) [2020]

Summary:

The present volume shows an overview of how photography was applied at the Federal Office of Topography swisstopo, which was founded in Geneva in 1838 by Guillaume-Henri Dufour. A year later, the physicist François Arago introduced the procedure called 'daguerreotype' to the French Academy of Sciences in Paris. This is considered to be the birth of photography. It was not until a quarter of a century later, shortly before the final stages of completing the 'Dufour Map' in 1863, that a report on the possibilities of using this new method for representing official cartography in Switzerland was published. Already a decade earlier, the Department of Justice and Police was the first federal authority to use photography in their work.

During the first half of the 1870s, the Federal Topographic Bureau began employing this new technology in cooperation with private photographers. At the World's Fair in Vienna in 1873, the exhibited Photographische Relief der Schweiz nach der Dufourkarte ('Photographic relief of Switzerland based on the Dufour Map') is thus by far the oldest known photographically produced official cartographic work of Switzerland. The engineer Philipp Charles Gosset had his surveying work of the Rhone Glacier photographically documented for an entire year. It was only in the early 1890s that the reproduction studio was founded under the supervision of Ernst Jeuch.

Simultaneously, the engineer Max Rosenmund undertook first attempts in 1892 to use photographically exposed glass plates for storing geometric information. Thereby, photography obtained a new function as a measuring image which could be restituted and used for constructing plans and maps. However, for various reasons it was not until the early 1920s that such works progressed from the experimental to a productive stage. Beginning in World War I, terrestrial photogrammetry was used in making topographic surveys for fortification maps in the Alpine regions. Aerial photogrammetry was tested around 1924/25 and went into production afterwards. Towards the end of the decade, the first orthophotographs were compiled from rectified single images and in three cases printed as photomaps. By order of the chief telegraph officer of the army, a total of 16 infrared panoramas were produced between 1944 and 1947.

For the development of the new national topographic map series according to the 1935 law, the sophisticated reproduction techniques played a key role and characterized the renowned high quality of the official cartographic products of Switzerland. However, the transition to a digital society during the 1970s had a major impact on the production processes: by and by, the important elements of the photochemical processes disappeared from the assortment of the photographic industry. At the same time, digital image processing took hold rapidly at the beginning of the 1990s, and by the turn of the millennium the analog photographic techniques had been replaced entirely by digital methods.

Translation by Christine Studer


© 1990–2021 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontaktadresse | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Thema: Photographie an der Landestopographie

Cartographica Helvetica 59 (2020)

Zusammenfassung:

Das vorliegende Heft vermittelt einen Überblick über die Anwendung der Photographie am Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo, welches 1838 in Genf durch Guillaume-Henri Dufour gegründet wurde. Ein Jahr später stellte in Paris der Physiker François Arago das Verfahren der «Daguerreotypie» der französischen Akademie der Wissenschaften vor, was als Geburtsstunde der Photographie gilt. Erst ein Vierteljahrhundert später wurde 1863 kurz vor Abschluss der Arbeiten an der «Dufourkarte» ein Bericht über die Möglichkeiten eines Einsatzes dieser neuartigen Methoden in der amtlichen Kartographie der Schweiz verfasst. Bereits rund ein Jahrzehnt zuvor hatte das Justiz- und Polizeidepartement als erste Bundesbehörde die Photographie bei seiner Tätigkeit eingesetzt.

In der ersten Hälfte der 1870er-Jahre begann das Eidgenössische topographische Bureau in Kooperation mit Privatphotographen diese neuen Technologien auch produktiv anzuwenden. Das an der Weltausstellung 1873 in Wien ausgestellte Photographische Relief der Schweiz nach der Dufourkarte ist das bislang älteste bekannte photographisch erstellte Produkt der schweizerischen amtlichen Kartographie. Ein Jahr lang liess Ingenieur Philipp Charles Gosset seine Arbeiten an der Vermessung des Rhonegletschers photographisch dokumentieren. Erst in den frühen 1890er-Jahren wurde das Reproatelier unter der Leitung von Ernst Jeuch geschaffen.

Parallel dazu unternahm 1892 Ingenieur Max Rosenmund die ersten Versuche, photographisch exponierte Glasplatten als Speicher geometrischer Informationen zu nutzen. Damit erhielt die Photographie eine neue Funktion als Messbild, dessen Auswertung zur Konstruktion von Plänen und Karten eingesetzt werden konnte. Aus verschiedenen Gründen dauerte es allerdings bis in die frühen 1920er-Jahre, bis solche Arbeiten über das Versuchsstadium hinauswuchsen und zunehmend produktiv umgesetzt wurden. Im Alpengebiet erfolgten die topographischen Aufnahmen für die sogenannten Festungskarten ab dem Ersten Weltkrieg mittels terrestrischer Photogrammetrie. Die Bildmessung aus der Luft wurde um 1924/25 getestet und danach produktiv umgesetzt. Gegen Ende dieses Jahrzehnts wurden die ersten photographisch erzeugten Bildpläne aus entzerrten Einzelaufnahmen zusammengesetzt und in drei Fällen als Aerophoto-Karten gedruckt. Im Auftrag des Telegraphenchefs der Armee entstanden zwischen 1944 und 1947 insgesamt 16 Infrarot-Photopanoramen.

Beim Aufbau des neuen Landeskartenwerkes nach dem «Kartengesetz» von 1935 spielten die ausgeklügelten photographischen Reproduktionsvorgänge eine zentrale Rolle und prägten die anerkannt hohe Qualität der amtlichen Kartenproduktion der Schweiz wesentlich mit. Doch der ab den 1970er-Jahren einsetzende Wandel hin zu einer digitalen Gesellschaft hatte seine Auswirkungen auf die Arbeitsprozesse: Nach und nach verschwanden wichtige Ingredienzen der photochemischen Arbeitsprozesse aus dem Angebot der Photoindustrie. Parallel dazu gewann die digitale Bildverarbeitung ab den 1990er-Jahren rasant an Bedeutung und führte bis etwa zur Jahrtausendwende in allen Arbeitsprozessen zur vollständigen Ablösung der analogen Photographie durch numerische Methoden.


© 1990–2020 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS