Contact | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Missionary cartography

Missionary societies emerged as a reaction by engaged Christians in the orient to reports of the existence of non-occidental, non-Christian cultures. Based on the Great Commission by Jesus (Matthew 28, 18–20), the movement was created with the purpose of educating and sending out missionaries. Thus, it was possible to promote and spread Christianity in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Originally, the Mission of Basel was founded in 1815 with the aim of training missionaries in a seminary, who would then work for other organizations overseas. The conception and development of geographic knowledge was essential for the goals, the activities and the voyages of the missionaries, particularly when they began traveling into the back countries. The creation, distribution and use of maps depict that the last third of the 19th and the first quarter of the 20th centuries can be considered as the prime of missionary cartography.

For a number of ethnic groups and belief systems, maps serve not only as an orientation aid in a clearly defined physical space. This is also true for the Ngaju people of the Dayak nation in Kalimantan, the Indonesian part of the island of Borneo. Their representation of the 'superior world' and the 'inferior world' is characterized by cosmographic relationships and moral principles. The shown example (approx. 1930) includes a wide variety of symbolism which – considering the viewpoint of the Ngaju – illustrate and explain humanity in a physical and spiritual form.

The Historical Museum in Lucerne is in possession of a mysterious Jesuit cartographic representation. The world map by Johann Baptist Cysat is a hand-colored, inverse copper engraving mounted on canvas and attached to a wooden disc, whereby the two buttons for operating the disc are missing. It consists of six sheets, cut in a circular manner and assembled to a disc with a diameter of 100 cm. Two sets of numbers from I to XII encircle the map in a counterclockwise direction. The map itself is mounted in a square wooden shrine, each side measuring 130 cm. A polar, stereographic azimuthal map projection was chosen to represent the map. The center of projection is the north pole, from which the map is projected onto the tangential plane of the south pole. The center of the map is the south pole; the observer is fictionally positioned inside the globe. The map was not intended to indicate geographic longitudes and latitudes but to show the time of day of the different peoples and the locations of where the Society of Jesus was present. The names of the Jesuit martyrs are noted on the edges of the map and provided with a letter of the alphabet indicating the place where the missionaries had died.

The geographic expansion of the world in the 19th century is usually associated with celebrated explorers such as Alexander von Humboldt, Heinrich Barth or Gerhard Rohlfs who disclosed their geographic findings and discoveries through various publishing houses. Little is known, however, that the wide range of products from the geographic publishing house Justus Perthes not only included individual maps, the atlases by Stieler and Berghaus as well as notable journals but also cartographic works from the mission environment. Besides Reinhold Grundemann's Allgemeiner Missionsatlas which was probably the most encompassing work of this nature, these were primarily reports and maps from the Mittheilungen aus Justus Perthes' Geographischer Anstalt. It can be said that the cartographic works created by missionaries represented a not-to-be-underestimated contribution to the last great geographic discoveries of the world. As the 19th century – along with the 'age of discoveries' and the 'century of missionaries' – came to a close, missionary cartography slowly lost its significance. Over time, it also vanished from view of scientific research.

Beginning in the 1830s, the protestant missionary societies pioneered in editing special atlases, both internationally as well as in the German-speaking regions. It was not until the last quarter of the 19th century that catholic-oriented cartography started to appear. The beginnings are related to the edition of the magazine Die katholischen Missionen by the Jesuits. For the volumes 1881 and 1882, Alexander Baumgartner SJ, drafted four maps of the missions in East Asia. He was a talented topographer himself, but since his main interest was set in literary studies, he delegated this growing project to Oscar Werner SJ. From 1884 to 1886, Werner published the first catholic missionary atlas in several German and French editions. In 1888, he combined the non-missionary countries of the universal church in a complimentary Catholic Church Atlas.

The 'Society of the Divine Word' (Societas Verbi Divini SVD), also known as 'Steyl missionaries', was founded in 1875 by Arnold Janssen and is the oldest and largest German catholic missionary society. The members of the society were particularly renowned for their scientific studies in ethnology and linguistics of non-European countries. The Steyl fathers played a major part in clerical-catholic cartography for over a century, which has up to now received little attention. The first milestone was a wall map of the Africa Mission (1903) by Hubert Hansen SVD. Karl Streit SVD became its central figure. His Katholischer Missionsatlas was published in 1906 as a bilingual edition in German and French. Streit also published the Atlas hierarchicus which gained a semi-official character as the 'atlas of the universal church'. After having been in exile in Switzerland during World War II, the Steyl cartographers of the SVD gained renewed prominence and published several atlases under Heinrich Emmerich. He was considered as the 'Vatican's ultimate cartographer'. The 6th edition of the Atlas hierarchicus from 2011 concludes a century-old tradition.

Translation by Christine Studer

Price: Switzerland CHF 25.–, Europe/Overseas CHF 28.– (shipping included). (order address)


© 1990–2019 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontakt | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Missionskartographie

Missionsgesellschaften sind als eine Reaktion engagierter Christen des Abendlandes auf Berichte über die Existenz nicht abendländischer, nichtchristlicher Kulturen entstanden. Aufgrund des Missionsbefehls Jesu (Matthäus 28, 18–20) setzte sich diese Bewegung für die Ausbildung und Aussendung von Missionaren ein. Mit ihnen sollte die Verbreitung des Christentums in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika gefördert werden. Die Basler Mission wurde 1815 ursprünglich mit der Absicht gegründet, in einem Seminar Missionare auszubilden, welche dann in Übersee für andere Organisationen arbeiten sollten. Die kartographische Erarbeitung von geographischem Wissen war massgebend für Missionsziele, -aktivitäten und -reisetätigkeit, insbesondere als sich die Missionare in das Hinterland der Missionsfelder begaben. Erstellung, Verbreitung und Verwendung von Karten verdeutlichen, dass das letzte Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts und das erste Viertel des 20. Jahrhunderts als Blütezeit der Missionskartographie abgegrenzt werden kann.

In etlichen Volksgruppen und Glaubenssystemen dienen Landkarten nicht alleine der Orientierung in einem klar definierten physischen Raum. Dies gilt auch für das zu den Dayak zählende Volk der Ngaju in Kalimantan, dem indonesischen Teil der Insel Borneo. Ihre Darstellung der «oberen Welt» und der «unteren Welt» ist von kosmographischen Zusammenhängen und moralischen Leitsätzen geprägt. Das ausgewählte Beispiel von ca. 1930 beinhaltet eine vielfältige Symbolik, welche unter dem Gesichtspunkt von Vorstellungen bei den Ngaju zum Menschsein in körperlicher und seelischer Form skizziert und erläutert wird.

Im Historischen Museum Luzern befindet sich eine geheimnisvolle, jesuitische Kartendarstellung von 1619. Die in Kupfer gestochene, kolorierte seitenverkehrte Weltkarte von Johann Baptist Cysat ist auf Leinwand montiert und auf einer hölzernen Drehscheibe befestigt, deren zwei Knöpfe heute fehlen. Sie ist aus sechs Blättern kreisförmig ausgeschnitten und zusammengesetzt. Ihr Durchmesser beträgt 100 cm. Um sie herum läuft ein Stundenring, der zwei Zählungen von I bis XII im Gegenuhrzeigersinn zeigt. Sie ist in einen quadratischen Holzschrein mit einer Seitenlänge von 130 cm eingefügt. Die Karte wird in polständiger stereographischer Azimutalprojektion dargestellt. Projektionszentrum ist der Nordpol. Die Karte wird von dort auf die Tangentialebene, die den Südpol berührt, projiziert. Der Mittelpunkt der Karte ist der Südpol; der fiktive Standort des Betrachters liegt im Innern der Erdkugel. Der Zweck der Karte war nicht, die geographische Länge und Breite der Orte zu zeigen, sondern man sollte aus ihr herauslesen können, welche Uhrzeit bei den einzelnen Völkern gelte und wo die Gesellschaft Jesu überall vertreten sei. Am Rande der Karte sind die Namen der Märtyrer der Jesuiten angeschrieben, versehen mit einem Buchstaben, der auf der Karte den Ort bezeichnet, wo die Missionare gestorben sind.

Die geographische Erschliessung der Welt im 19. Jahrhundert wird vor allem mit den Namen grosser Forschungsreisender, wie Alexander von Humboldt, Heinrich Barth oder Gerhard Rohlfs in Verbindung gebracht, die ihre geographischen Erkenntnisse und Entdeckungen in den verschiedensten Verlagen publizierten. Wenig bekannt ist jedoch, dass die breite Produktpalette der geographischen Verlagsanstalt Justus Perthes neben Einzelkarten, den Atlanten von Stieler und Berghaus sowie bedeutenden Fachzeitschriften auch kartographische Arbeiten aus dem Missionsumfeld umfasste. Neben Reinhold Grundemanns Allgemeinem Missionsatlas, der wohl das umfangreichste Werk dieser Art darstellt, waren dies vor allem Berichte und Karten in den Mittheilungen aus Justus Perthes' Geographischer Anstalt. Die Missionskartographie leistete somit einen nicht unbedeutenden Beitrag für die letzten grossen geographischen Entdeckungen der Welt. Als sich mit dem 19. Jahrhundert nicht nur das Zeitalter der Entdeckungen, sondern auch das «Jahrhundert der Missionen» dem Ende neigte, verlor die Missionskartographie mehr und mehr an Bedeutung. Sie verschwand mit der Zeit auch aus dem Blickwinkel der wissenschaftlichen Forschung.

Bei der Edition spezieller Atlanten ihrer Arbeitsfelder gingen seit den 1830er Jahren international und auch im deutschsprachigen Raum zunächst die protestantischen Missionsgesellschaften voran. Die katholisch geprägte Kartographie zog hier erst im letzten Viertel des 19. Jahrhunderts nach. Die Anfänge sind verbunden mit der von Jesuiten herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Die katholischen Missionen. Für die Jahrgänge 1881 und 1882 entwarf der aus St. Gallen stammende Alexander Baumgartner SJ vier Karten der Missionen Ostasiens. Er war selbst zwar ein begabter Topograph, aber vor allem literaturwissenschaftlich interessiert. Die Weiterführung als grösseres Projekt übergab er an Oscar Werner SJ. Er publizierte 1884 bis 1886 den ersten katholischen Missionsatlas in mehreren deutschen und französischen Ausgaben. Die Nicht-Missionsländer der Weltkirche fasste Werner 1888 in einem ergänzenden Katholischen Kirchen-Atlas zusammen.

Die 1875 von Arnold Janssen gegründete «Gesellschaft des Göttlichen Wortes» (Societas Verbi Divini, SVD), in Kurzform «Steyler Missionare» genannt, ist die älteste und grösste deutsche katholische Missionsgesellschaft. Wissenschaftlich haben Mitglieder des Ordens vor allem in der aussereuropäischen Ethnologie und Sprachenkunde Bedeutung. Die führende Rolle, die Steyler Patres über ein Jahrhundert lang in der kirchlich-katholischen Kartographie gespielt haben, wurde bisher wenig beachtet. Erster Meilenstein war eine Wandkarte der Afrika-Mission (1903) von Hubert Hansen SVD. Zentrale Gestalt wurde Karl Streit SVD. Sein Katholischer Missionsatlas erschien 1906 in deutsch- und französischsprachiger Ausgabe. Halboffiziellen Charakter als Atlas der Weltkirche erlangte Streits Atlas hierarchicus. Nach dem Exil in der Schweiz während des 2. Weltkrieges blühte die Steyler Kartographie der SVD mit etlichen Atlasausgaben unter Heinrich Emmerich neu auf. Er galt als «Kartograph des Vatikans» schlechthin. Die 6. Auflage des Atlas hierarchicus von 2011 rundet eine 100jährige Tradition ab.

Preis: Schweiz CHF 25.–, Europa/Übersee CHF 28.– (inklusive Versand). (Bestelladresse)


© 1990–2019 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS