Contact | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Cartography of Central Switzerland

The goal of the 'Cartography of Central Switzerland' project, launched in 2009 by Madlena Cavelti, was to take stock and create an inventory of the existing maps of the six cantons in Central Switzerland. Up to 2018, a total of over 16,000 items – plans, maps, panoramas and relief models – have been catalogued and their metadata made available online by Edition Cavelti.

The region of Central Switzerland comprising the Cantons of Uri, Schwyz, Obwalden, Nidwalden, Lucerne and Zug includes 178 municipalities and encompasses 4500 km2, which is about one ninth of the area of Switzerland. This is mainly an alpine region including fundamental passes such as the Gotthard, Furka, Oberalp and Susten. The characteristic and unifying element of the landscape is Lake Lucerne which seems to embrace the region with its fjord-like arms. Xaver Imfeld created an excellent image of this diverse landscape in his Reliefkarte der Centralschweiz from 1887.

A richly illustrated cartographic retrospective was composed for the present issue. To begin with, a brief overview shows how Central Switzerland, the Rigi and Lake Lucerne were mapped since the 15th century. Subsequently, the cartographic reproduction of the individual Cantons is shown in detail, whereby not only maps but also panoramas and relief models are introduced. The author endeavors to express not only the diversely technical, but also the artistic side of the piece of work as well as the interpersonal aspects of the map makers during that time. Central Switzerland is ideally suited for this purpose, considering the origin of the most important contenders in cartography such as Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher, Franz Fidel Landtwing, Joachim Eugen Müller, Ernst-Rudolf Mohr, Xaver Imfeld and Rigi promoter Heinrich Keller.

During the inventory, several up to now unknown items were discovered. For example, a list of about 300 maps existed in the State Archives of Obwalden. After having incorporated these maps, an additional 1200 unexamined manuscript maps and plans were discovered, dating from around 1900. Probably the most important discovery was a large-format manuscript map from 1805 by Joachim Müller, which was found rolled up in the Historical Museum Obwalden. This map served as a basis for various works by Müller and can therefore be considered as a key example of the cartographic history of Switzerland. In the meantime this significant item has been professionally restored and is on display in the Sarnen Museum.

Both the relief builder Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher from Lucerne and his colleague in the French army, Franz Fidel Landtwing from Zug, were important map authors. The latter created an impressive number of newly surveyed maps and plans of Canton Zug. Being unmarried, he founded an entailed estate (a special type of family trust) in 1775 to ensure that his considerable assets, his collection of weapons and instruments, as well as his library including 66 manuscript maps would be preserved in its entirety.

Translation by Christine Studer

Price: Switzerland CHF 25.–, Europe/Overseas CHF 28.– (shipping included). (order address)


© 1990–2019 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontakt | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Zentralschweiz im Kartenbild

Das Projekt «Kartographie der Zentralschweiz», das 2009 unter der Leitung von Madlena Cavelti gestartet wurde, hatte zum Ziel, die Kartenbestände der sechs Kantone der Zentralschweiz zu sichten und zu inventarisieren. Bis 2018 wurden insgesamt über 16 000 Objekte – Pläne, Karten, Panoramen und Reliefmodelle – erfasst und ihre Metadaten von der Edition Cavelti online gestellt.

Die Region Zentralschweiz mit den Kantonen Uri, Schwyz, Obwalden, Nidwalden, Luzern und Zug besteht aus 178 Gemeinden und umfasst 4500 km2, etwa ein Neuntel der Fläche der Schweiz. Es handelt sich vorwiegend um alpine Räume mit bedeutenden Pässen wie Gotthard, Furka, Oberalp und Sustenpass. Landschaftsprägendes und verbindendes Element ist der Vierwaldstättersee, an dessen fjordartigen Armen sich die Region ausbreitet. In seiner Reliefkarte der Centralschweiz von 1887 ist Xaver Imfeld die Abbildung dieser abwechslungsreichen Landschaft vorzüglich gelungen.

Für das vorliegende Heft wurde eine reich bebilderte kartographische Werkschau verfasst. Zuerst zeigt sie überblickmässig, wie die Zentralschweiz, die Rigi und der Vierwaldstättersee seit dem 15. Jahrhundert kartiert wurden. Danach wird die kartographische Wiedergabe der einzelnen Kantone im Detail aufgezeigt, wobei nicht nur Karten, sondern auch Panoramen und Reliefmodelle vorgestellt werden. Es ist der Autorin wichtig, nicht nur das vielfältige technische, sondern auch das künstlerische Werk sowie zwischenmenschliche Aspekte der damaligen Kartenschaffenden zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Die Zentralschweiz bietet sich mit ihren kartographisch wichtigsten Kontrahenten wie Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher, Franz Fidel Landtwing, Joachim Eugen Müller, Ernst-Rudolf Mohr, Xaver Imfeld und dem Rigi-Förderer Heinrich Keller dazu bestens an.

Während der Bestandsaufnahme stiess man auf mehrere bisher unbekannte Objekte. Beispielsweise besass das Staatsarchiv Obwalden eine Inventarliste von etwas über 300 Karten. Nachdem diese übernommen wurde, entdeckte man weitere 1200 unerschlossene Manuskriptkarten und -pläne der Jahre um 1900. Die wahrscheinlich wichtigste Entdeckung gelang im Historischen Museum Obwalden, wo eine grossformatige zusammengerollte Manuskriptkarte von Joachim Eugen Müller aus dem Jahre 1805 zum Vorschein kam. Bei dieser Karte handelt es sich um eine Grundlage für die verschiedenen Werke Müllers und sie bildet damit ein Schlüsselwerk der Kartengeschichte der Schweiz. Dieses wichtige Objekt wurde in der Zwischenzeit fachgerecht restauriert und ist nun im Museum Sarnen zu besichtigen.

Neben dem Luzerner Reliefbauer Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher war auch sein Kollege in der französischen Armee, Franz Fidel Landtwing aus Zug, ein wichtiger Kartenautor. Er schuf vom Kanton Zug eine stattliche Anzahl neu vermessener Karten und Pläne. Als Unverheirateter gründete er 1775 ein «Fideikommiss» (eine Familienstiftung), um sicher zu stellen, dass sein beachtliches Vermögen, seine Waffen- und Instrumentensammlung, sowie seine Bibliothek inklusive 66 Manuskriptkarten als Ganzes erhalten blieb.

Preis: Schweiz CHF 25.–, Europa/Übersee CHF 28.– (inklusive Versand). (Bestelladresse)


© 1990–2018 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS