Contact address | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Theme: Treasures of St. Gall

Cartographica Helvetica 56 (2018)

Summary:

The topic of the present volume are the cartographic collections of the Canton of St. Gall. The reasons of this decision are numerous. St. Gall has three important map archives: the monastery library (Stiftsbibliothek), the cantonal library (Kantonsbibliothek Vadiana) and the State archives (Staatsarchiv). Many documents and objects are unique.

The cartographic development of the Canton of St. Gall until the beginning of the 19th century is presented by a selection of important maps and plans from 1500 to 1850. Its history of cartography has not yet completely been summarized. A reason for this might be that the Canton of St. Gall was founded only in 1803 by merging a variety of territories, which did not have a common historical background.

When Guillaume-Henri Dufour was appointed Quartermaster-General on 20th September 1832 he was also commissioned for the trigonometric survey of Switzerland and a uniform topographic map of the entire country. St. Gall was one of the first cantons – after Thurgau, Basel, Geneva, Aargau and Vaud – which carried on with the trigonometric measurements, following Dufour's directions to the letter. Several details, for instance the unfortunate sheet division and the small scale of the National Map, led to the decision by the Cantonal Government to make its own topographic map in the scale 1:25,000. It was produced by Wurster, Randegger & Cie in Winterthur in stone engraving technique and mono-color printing in 16 sheets. In acknowledge of Johannes Eschmann and his great work as head of the trigonometric and topographic detail survey, the map series is nicknamed 'Eschmannkarte'.

Between 1860 and 1960 – after decades of planning – the largest water correction project in Switzerland was realized in the Rhine Valley leading to the Lake of Constance. It included the Rhine Regulation, canal systems for the tributaries and the melioration of the entire valley. Each construction period was based on extensive and detailed construction plans and maps. Most of these documents have been preserved.

The St. Gall globe kept at the Swiss National Museum is a model of the earth and its firmament. It demonstrates the concept of a cosmographic theory of the 16th century, described here for the first time, and reaching from Johannes Schöner to Tilemann Stella. For a long time it was presumed that the globe originated in Augsburg. However, after a painted likeness was discovered, it was possible to determine the globe's date of completion as 1576 in Schwerin. A true-to-original replica is exhibited at the monastery library in St. Gall.

In the first decades of the 16th century, geography and cartography were valued sciences in Vienna, where Humanism flourished. Several students of the German Renaissance, including the humanist scholar and Neo-Latin poet Conrad Celtes published geographical books and worked as cartographers. The basis for the study of maps at this time were the Ptolemaic maps, which were available in Vienna in several printed editions. They also were taken as the models for the manuscript maps that were bound with the 1518 edition of the 'Scholien' of Pomponius Mela, edited by the Vienna humanist Joachim Vadian from St. Gall, Switzerland. Until now only eight copies of this edition that include these manuscript map-cimelia (containing 26 sheets) are known worldwide.

Translation by Christine Studer, Chet van Duzer and Thomas Horst


© 1990–2021 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontaktadresse | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Thema: St. Galler Kartenschätze

Cartographica Helvetica 56 (2018)

Zusammenfassung:

Die kartographischen Bestände St. Gallens bilden das Thema des vorliegenden Heftes. Grund dazu bilden nicht nur die zum Teil einzigartigen Dokumente und Objekte, sondern auch die drei wichtigsten Standorte: die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die Kantonsbibliothek Vadiana und das Staatsarchiv St. Gallen.

Mit einer Auswahl von wichtigen Karten und Plänen von 1500 bis 1850 soll die Entwicklung der Kartographie des Kantons St. Gallen bis zu Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts gezeigt werden. Zur Geschichte der Kartographie des Kantons St. Gallen gibt es bis jetzt keine umfassende Darstellung. Dies liegt sicher auch daran, dass der Kanton St. Gallen erst 1803 künstlich aus verschiedenen Gebieten gebildet wurde, die bisher keine gemeinsame Geschichte aufwiesen.

Als Guillaume-Henri Dufour am 20. September 1832 zum Oberstquartiermeister gewählt wurde, gehörte auch die Leitung der trigonometrischen Vermessung der Schweiz und die Erstellung eines einheitlichen landesweiten topographischen Kartenwerks zu seinen Aufgaben. Nach dem Thurgau, Basel, Genf, Aargau und der Waadt war St. Gallen einer der ersten Kantone, die die Triangulation und die topographische Aufnahme auf ihrem Territorium gemäss den Anweisungen Dufours weiterführten. Verschiedene Gründe, unter anderen der unglückliche Blattschnitt und der kleine Massstab 1:100 000 seiner Karte führte dazu, dass sich die St. Galler Regierung für eine eigene Kantonskarte im Massstab 1:25 000 entschied. Diese wurde von der Firma Wurster, Randegger & Cie. in Winterthur in 16 Blättern in Stein gestochen und einfarbig gedruckt. Aus Anerkennung an Johannes Eschmann, dem Leiter der Triangulation und topographischen Aufnahme, wird das Werk auch «Eschmannkarte» genannt.

Im Alpenrheintal oberhalb des Bodensees entstand – nach Jahrzehnten der Planung – zwischen 1860 und 1960 das grösste Gewässerkorrektionswerk der Schweiz: die Rheinregulierung mit Kanalsystemen für die Zuflüsse und der Melioration der ganzen Talebene. Jede Bauphase basierte auf umfangreichen Planwerken. Diese Unterlagen blieben nahezu integral erhalten.

Der St. Galler Globus im Schweizerischen Nationalmuseum folgt als Modell der Erde in ihrem Himmelsgewölbe dem Konzept einer hier erstmals beschriebenen kosmographischen Schule des 16. Jahrhunderts von Johannes Schöner bis Tilemann Stella. Lange Zeit wurde seine Herkunft auf Augsburg abgeleitet. Nach dem Auftauchen einer gemalten Verkaufs-Vorschau kann die Fertigstellung des Globus nun auf 1576 in Schwerin datiert werden. Eine originalgetreue Replik ist in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen ausgestellt.

Im Wiener Humanismus des beginnenden 16. Jahrhunderts standen Geographie und Kartographie in hohem Ansehen. Einige Schüler des deutschen Erzhumanisten Konrad Celtis verfassten geographische Werke und waren als Kartographen tätig. Grundlage des damaligen Kartenstudiums waren die ptolemäischen Karten, die in Wien in verschiedenen Druckausgaben vorlagen. Sie lagen auch den Manuskriptkarten zugrunde, welche den 1518 gedruckten Ausgaben der Scholien zu Pomponius Mela des aus St. Gallen stammenden Wiener Humanisten Joachim Vadian beigebunden wurden. Bisher sind weltweit acht Exemplare dieses 26 Blätter zählenden handschriftlichen Kartenwerks bekannt.


© 1990–2020 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS