Contact | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

Fortification maps: Secret military maps of Switzerland 1888–1952

Fortification maps and cartography have been inseparably linked since the early modern period. Already in 1588, the architect in charge of renovating the city walls of Basel demanded that the existing ramparts had first to be surveyed and shown on a map. However, during the following centuries, fortification maps were limited to the immediate surroundings of the structures. They were not uniform and varied from canton to canton.

The fortification maps discussed here came into existence simultaneously to the development of military structures and fortifications in Switzerland. In response to the inauguration of the Gotthard Railway, the Federal Council decided in 1885 to fortify the southern front of the Gotthard. The artillery fort «Fondo del Bosco» to the west of Airolo was to secure the south portal and thus constituted the core of the Gotthard fortification, reaching from Andermatt to the Oberalp, Furka and Grimsel passes. Because there was no direct line of sight from the cannons stationed at the forts to most of the anticipated targets, indirect firing methods had to be developed. This required the accurate definition of the geometric configuration between cannon and target with the help of precise maps. Thanks to these, it was possible to calculate the appropriate elements for aiming the cannons at a particular target. The Topographic Atlas of Switzerland 1:50 000 (aka «Siegfried Maps») proved insufficient and thus the scale 1:10 000 was chosen for the majority of fortification maps.

The fortified area around St-Maurice started being mapped in 1891 whereas the region of Monte Ceneri was begun only shortly before World War I. The Chief of Armaments and the Engineering Corps, who also directed the Engineering Bureau, the Fortification Bureau and the Topographic Bureau, coordinated the work of up to 150 topographers for the original surveys for the fortification maps. The method of the plane table was used for surveying but after 1892, experiments using terrestrial photogrammetry (using photographs) were carried out in three regions. Because of insufficient evaluation methods, it was not possible to apply this procedure for production. It was only during the First World War that the «surveying detachment St. Gotthard» was able to increase cartographic production thanks to the development of efficient instruments for stereo photogrammetry.

At the beginning of the Second World War, the fourth large fortification map series was surveyed in the area of Sargans. It was realized directly together with the elaboration of the General Plan of the Swiss Cadastral Survey, based on the Swiss Civil Code which was introduced in 1912. The surveying priorities between the civil and military authorities were coordinated in such a manner as to deem a purely military survey unnecessary. In around half a dozen so-called «border surveys», the foreign territory to be mapped was clearly larger than that of Switzerland. In addition to available foreign maps, aerial photographs taken by the Federal Office of Topography a few weeks before the war broke out, were also used for the surveys.

At the beginning of the 1950s the artillery service at the Federal Office of Topography was closed due to financial cutbacks, and the production of fortification maps which at that time covered approx. 7.5% of the area of Switzerland was discontinued. Hence, this special period of the history of Swiss cartography lasted around 65 years. This cartographic material classified as secret was of excellent quality and was not declassified until 2009.

Translation by Christine Studer

Price: Switzerland CHF 25.–, Europe/Overseas CHF 28.– (shipping included). (order address)


© 1990–2017 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontakt | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Festungskarten: geheime schweizerische Militärkarten 1888–1952

Das Festungswesen und die Kartographie sind seit der Frühen Neuzeit ein unzertrennliches Paar: Bereits 1588 verlangte der mit der Erneuerung der Stadtmauer von Basel beauftragte Festungsbaumeister, dass zuerst die bestehenden Schanzen vermessen und in einem Plan festgehalten werden mussten. In den folgenden Jahrhunderten beschränkte sich die Festungskartographie allerdings nur auf die unmittelbare Umgebung dieser Bauwerke. Ihr Erscheinungsbild war noch nicht einheitlich und von Kanton zu Kanton verschieden.

Die hier beschriebenen Festungskarten entstanden parallel zum Aufbau der schweizerischen Landesbefestigung. 1885 beschloss der Bundesrat, als Reaktion auf die Eröffnung der Gotthardbahn, die Gotthard-Südfront zu befestigen. Das Artilleriefort «Fondo del Bosco» westlich von Airolo hatte das Südportal zu sichern; es bildete den Nukleus der auf Andermatt und die Pässe von Oberalp, Furka und Grimsel ausgedehnten Gotthardbefestigung. Weil von den Geschützen der Forts keine direkte Sichtverbindung zum überwiegenden Teil möglicher Ziele bestand, wurden indirekte Schiessverfahren entwickelt, bei denen die geometrische Beziehung zwischen Geschütz und Ziel anhand genauer Karten ermittelt werden musste. Daraus wurden die sogenannten Schiesselemente berechnet, die beim Richten am Geschütz einzustellen waren, um ein bestimmtes Ziel zu beschiessen. Der Topographische Atlas der Schweiz 1:50 000 (Siegfriedkarte) genügte dazu nicht. Für den überwiegenden Teil der Festungskarten wurde daher der Massstab 1:10 000 gewählt.

1891 wurde auch mit der Kartierung des Festungsgebietes St-Maurice begonnen, mit jener des Monte Ceneri erst unmittelbar vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Die Original-Aufnahmen der Festungskarten, an denen gegen 150 Topographen beteiligt waren, wurden vom Waffenchef der Genietruppen koordiniert, der dem Genie-Bureau, dem Befestigungs-Bureau und dem Topographischen Bureau vorstand. Die Aufnahmen erfolgten nach der Messtischmethode, aber 1892 wurden in drei Gebieten auch Versuche zum Einsatz terrestrischer Photogrammetrie (Bildmessung) gestartet. Mangels effizienter Auswerteverfahren konnte die Methode allerdings noch nicht in die Produktion überführt werden. Erst im Ersten Weltkrieg konnte das «Vermessungs-Detachement St. Gotthard» dank der inzwischen erfolgten Entwicklung leistungsfähiger Auswertegeräte die Kartierungsleistung unter Einsatz der Stereophotogrammetrie um ein Mehrfaches steigern.

Im Vorfeld des Zweiten Weltkriegs entstand um Sargans das vierte grosse Festungskartenwerk. Es konnte direkt auf dem Übersichtsplan der schweizerischen Grundbuchvermessung aufgebaut werden, der auf dem 1912 eingeführten Zivilgesetzbuch basiert. Die Aufnahmeprioritäten wurden zwischen den zivilen und militärischen Behörden koordiniert, sodass nun keine spezifisch militärischen Aufnahmen mehr nötig waren. Bei etwa einem halben Dutzend sogenannter «Grenzwerke» überwog der ausländische Anteil an der zu kartierenden Fläche gegenüber dem schweizerischen deutlich. Als Grundlagen wurden hier neben vorhandenen ausländischen Karten auch Luftbilder verwendet, die von der Landestopographie erst wenige Wochen vor Kriegsausbruch aufgenommen worden waren.

Anfang der 1950er Jahre wurde der Schiesskartendienst der Landestopographie als Folge der sogenannten «Sparexpertise» aufgelöst und die Produktion der Festungskarten, die in jenem Zeitpunkt etwa 7,5% der Landesfläche abdeckten, eingestellt. Somit hatte diese spezielle Phase der schweizerischen Kartographiegeschichte etwa sechseinhalb Jahrzehnte gedauert. Das als «geheim» klassifizierte Kartenmaterial, das von bester Qualität war, wurde erst 2009 entklassifiziert.

Preis: Schweiz CHF 25.–, Europa/Übersee CHF 28.– (inklusive Versand). (Bestelladresse)


© 1990–2017 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS